Nothing Left to Lose

 

Comment by Vicki Sue Mckinnis

 The Republican presidential debates are entertaining, but I remember that while Obama gave an excellent performance; once elected he was controlled by the same lobbyist/corporations/ bankers as previous presidents. If we could only find a way to have a candidate who wouldn’t have to sell his soul to the big corporation to win an election. John Huntsman is the candidate I would also like to see running against Obama, but see no hope of that happening.

The new proposed legislation to greatly increase the deforestation of Oregon is just one sickening example of the money oriented policy decision making you mention. Today on NPR they assured us that it would create jobs–as if anything that is good, even short term, for the economy is justified.

I’ve noticed an interesting change of attitude toward “entitlement programs” among those once affluent are now unemployed and losing their homes. Less government is a true principle, but when our government is controlled by corporations that create policies which destroy our local economies, do we to let the victims families that can’t find work starve out on the streets? 

This week I sat in my fine home, eating a delicious lunch, watching a short video on the Wall Street protests, I cried. As Gerald Celente says, “When people lose everything and have nothing left to lose they lose it.”  When the election process has failed, what is left? Nevertheless, I fear the protests will evolve into violence and don’t have faith they will actually accomplish anything.

I don’t know the answer; but the words of Thomas Jefferson ring loud and clear “If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issuance of their currency, first by inflation and then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around them will deprive the people of all their property until their children will wake up homeless on the continent their fathers conquered.”


2 responses to “Nothing Left to Lose

  1. I like your comment. I do think the protests are helpful if only to remind everyone that there are real people that are suffering and they are getting angry. Perhaps the uprising in the Middle East has helped to show the American people that it is very difficult to ignore the masses completely.

  2. I drove down to Sacramento last week to attend the protest. When I saw the young people with signs, I broke down and sobbed. I drove to the protest here in Grass Valley expecting to see the regular 10 activist who protest around here. When I pulled into Bruinswick, the streets were lined with 250 people holding signs. Again I had the same reaction. I sobbed. I wasn’t alone and people were lining the streets and saying it out loud. The feelings of anger and pain that I have stuffed for two years while trying to keep my family together and survive came pouring out.
    I met a woman who is a nurse practitioner who had moved here from Oregon after losing her home. She was renting a house and barely making ends meet. She and I got into a conversation with a school teacher who had also lost her home after her job went part time. We all ended up in tears as we discussed how we have felt so alone and forgotten. There was a couple next to us who had lost their home after their son became ill with a sign that said ‘justice’. They are wondering what happened. We talked about how we did everything ‘right’ as far as the American dream. We bought houses to raise our families in, worked our whole lives and paid our taxes. And now we were protesting because after we lost everything and kept quiet while they fix it, they still aren’t going to tax the 1% and congress isn’t even trying. Enough is enough.
    I’ll be out with the protesters. It felt so good to do something physical. You’re right about nothing left to lose. Vicki worries about violence. I’m ready for a civil war it that’s what it takes.

Leave a Reply

