Collateral Damage

Your Tax Dollars at Work

I don’t mind paying taxes, but want to see what my tax money buys. A large percentage of my taxes are spent to purchase weapons to kill People and am seldom shown any of the dead I paid to have killed.

 Statistics claim we have killed hundreds of thousand of soldiers and civilians in the two major wars we have engaged in the past ten years and  haven’t been shown any pictures of those I paid to have annihilated.

 It would also be interesting to know the ages and sex of the civilians destroyed by Smart Bombs and Drones, Aircraft and War Errors. How many losing their lives were pregnant and lost family members. I received all this information after the Twin Tower bombing.

 An example would be the Highway of death during the 1991 Gulf War. We should have been able to witness the bulldozers moving the tens of thousands of bodies and equipment of the retreating Iraqi soldiers and buses of Palestinian families into graves.

 Our taxes financed this massacre so we should have been shown what we paid for. Of course the media used a false description justifying this action, but were overshadowed by British troops observing this inhuman travesty.    

 I often wonder where the Right to Life protesters were during these and other wars, but we will probably need their fetuses to fight our next wars. 

 I know this is old news as the Iraq and Afghan wars have faded into the sunset with important news like the Casey Anthony trial and Tiger Woods and his sex life saturating the air ways and print.

Far more crucial than what we know or do not know is what we do not want to know. 
Eric Hoffer

I am including a graphic picture as an example of my tax dollars at work.

 Samar Hassan screamed after her parents were killed by U.S. soldiers in Iraq in 2005

 

7 responses to “Collateral Damage

  1. Vicki Sue McKinnis

    Yeah, Jill, I am also without words …except, Wow.

  2. Randy Hasper’s Blog on war contains many of my concerns on atrocities of war.

    http://modernproverbs.net/2011/04/25/war/

  3. Vicki Sue McKinnis

    Thanks for the link to Randy Hasper’s blog!

  4. before reading any of the other comments my first response was Jill’s.

  5. I appreciate your comments but don’t know what is meant by wow!

  6. Vicki Sue McKinnis

    For me, “Wow” in this instances meant that you “said it ALL, as unpleasant as it was to hear.”

Leave a Reply

